Package Search

Members: 351 | Topics: 766 | Posts: 3210
We welcome our newest member: Somewhat Reticent
Info
» You aren't logged in, login or registerOnline: No members and 5 guests | Time: 12:29
Upkg In Vala Programming
paldo Support Forum    Upkg    General Discussion
Reply Reply   Subscribe Topic Subscribe Topic
First step for porting our package manager
7 posts found.
 Upkg In Vala Programming
Senior Mitglied

Hi everyone,

So I've been here for around an year and nothing makes other distros better than paldo for me.

A long time ago I saw that the idea of the developers were one day port upkg from Mono to Vala.

But the devels, are out of time for it right now. So I was wondering how long could I take my skills (I'm not a programmer at all -- just an architect ) and make the first efforts.

Because of that it's been 3 months now that I've been trying to learn Vala and C concepts so I can make any code at all.

After these 3 months... I now have to partial and initial code "efforts": the first one I called uconf, and the second it is called upackage.

The idea was to make separate binaries to see if they actually work (considering my programming level). Later their function can be integratate through a main app in the Namespace Upkg.

So I'm going to post in here the codes for them. To compile them you need to use libxml-2.0 since they read xml files.

Vala is installed by default in paldo so the only thing you need to do is past it on a file named uconf.vala and compile it with

UPDATE = Removed the code of this old version since a new one (better one) were done and also since it was making the post too long

Sorry for this very long post, but I don't have a server to upload the files.

If anyone wants to contribute anyway with this effort for porting, I'm sure not only I'm going to be happy

PS.: To see how to use the programs after compile type ./$PROGRAM usage or ./$PROGRAM help

OSs: Paldo-testing x86_64 :: HP Pavilion dv9680ez